Security +

Validate Foundational IT Security Knowledge and Skills

CompTIA Security+ is an international, vendor-neutral certification that demonstrates competency in: Network security Compliance and operational security Threats and vulnerabilities Application, data, and host security Access control and identity management Cryptography Achieving CompTIA Security+ certification confirms that you not only can apply knowledge of security concepts, tools, and procedures to react to security incidents, but you also can anticipate security risks and guard against them.


The Security+ Certification Prep Course provides the basic knowledge needed to plan, implement, and maintain information security in a vendor-neutral format. This includes risk management, host and network security, authentication and access control systems, cryptography, and organizational security. This course maps to the CompTIA Security+ certification exam (SY0-601). Objective coverage is marked throughout the course.

Our Security+ courseware has received the CompTIA Approved Quality Content (CAQC) validation, assuring that all test objectives are covered in the training material.

What is Security+ Certification?

The Security+ certification is considered to be the minimum level of certification for all IT security positions beyond entry-level. This course delivers the core knowledge required to pass the exam and the skills necessary to advance to an intermediate-level security job.


In the Security+ Certification Prep Course, you will learn to:

Proactively implement sound security protocols to mitigate security risks
Quickly respond to security issues
Retroactively identify where security breaches may have occurred
Design a network, on-site or in the cloud, with security in mind


Chapter 1: Security Fundamentals

    • Module A: Security concepts
    • Module B: Risk management
    • Module C: Vulnerability assessment

Chapter 2: Understanding attacks

    • Module A: Understanding attackers
    • Module B: Social engineering
    • Module C: Malware
    • Module D: Network attacks
    • Module E: Application attacks

Chapter 3: Cryptography

    • Module A: Cryptography concepts
    • Module B: Public key infrastructure

Chapter 4: Network fundamentals

    • Module A: Network components
    • Module B: Network addressing
    • Module C: Network ports and applications

Chapter 5: Securing networks

    • Module A: Network security components
    • Module B: Transport encryption
    • Module C: Hardening networks
    • Module D: Monitoring and detection

Chapter 6: Securing hosts and data

    • Module A: Securing hosts
    • Module B: Securing data
    • Module C: Mobile device security

Chapter 7: Securing network services

    • Module A: Securing applications
    • Module B: Virtual and cloud systems

Chapter 8: Authentication

    • Module A: Authentication factors
    • Module B: Authentication protocols

Chapter 9: Access control

    • Module A: Access control principles
    • Module B: Account management

Chapter 10: Organizational security

    • Module A: Security policies
    • Module B: User training
    • Module C: Physical security and safety


Classroom Live Labs

Chapter 1: Understanding Attacks

    • Examining Phishing Attacks
    • Examining Malware
    • Probing a Site
    • Simulating a DOS Attack
    • Cracking Passwords
    • Simulating an Eavesdropping Attack
    • Exploring Application Vulnerabilities
    • Examining SQL Injection Attacks
    • Examining Client-side Attacks

Chapter 2: Cryptography

    • Symmetric Encryption
    • Asymmetric Encryption
    • Creating File Hashes
    • Installing a Certificate Authority

Chapter 3: Network Fundamentals

    • Using TCP/IP Tools

Chapter 4: Securing the Network

    • Configuring a Firewall
    • Examining Website Certificates
    • Securing a WAP
    • Viewing Event Logs
    • Scanning the Network

Chapter 5: Securing Hosts and Data

    • Enabling BitLocker

Chapter 6: Securing Network Services

    • Finding Vulnerable Code

Chapter 7: Authentication

    • Installing a RADIUS Server
    • Examining Active Directory

Chapter 8: Access Control

    • Managing NTFS Permissions
    • Managing Active Directory Objects
    • Using Group Policy Objects
    • Creating a Security Template

Chapter 9: Disaster planning and recovery

    • Using Windows Server Backup


This course assumes basic knowledge of using and maintaining individual workstations.

Attendees should be CompTIA A+ certified (or have equivalent experience) and CompTIA Network+ certified (or have equivalent experience) with 2-3 years networking experience.


Network Administrators
Cybersecurity Associates
IT personnel interested in pursuing a career in cybersecurity